Day Trip From London: Brighton

“All that I’m after is a life full of laughter” -Daughtry

Because I grew up in a beachy area, I feel like I physically/emotionally/mentally can’t go too long without seeing water. I luckily got to spend a day at Brighton, which is on the south coast of England and only about an hour from London via train. Although I’m a bit late writing about this experience, it’s definitely one of my funniest so far. (I couldn’t resist sharing.)

12011263_10153585415063638_4440178374294524106_n

Our first destination was Brighton’s beach. We arrived at a view of endless water, making it look like we were on the edge of the world. Gazing out you see nothing else in view except the endless blue. The beach isn’t like any that you’ve probably seen before; there isn’t actually any sand. Smooth pebbles cover the ground. Although the wind was absolutely insane and my hair ended up in a big rats-nest, the sun was shining and the day was beautiful.

IMG_3292

My 6 friends and I explored for quite some time until we decided to stop for a few drinks before heading back to the city. We noticed a quiet little bar that had a sign reading, “Buy one cocktail, get one free.” Now trust me, nothing catches college students’ attention more than the word “free.” We were sold.

The 7 of us walked in and ordered our drinks. We were there for about an hour before an older group of men sitting next to us turned and asked which of us were together. Confused, we said, “We all came together?” The men started to laugh and proceeded to tell us that we were in a “girly bar.”

We immediately made awkward eye contact and looked around. Then bam, it was completely noticeable. Everything basically screamed “gay bar.” Oops. We all started to hysterically laugh and even the bartender got in on it. She could tell that we were a little bit embarrassed and ended up giving us girls and the 3 men free shots…I certainly can’t complain.

bar sign

So you could say that I’ve met Brighton. I later found out that the area has a huge gay community, and honestly that just puts the icing on the cake. It’s three weeks later and my friends and I are still laughing about our experience. If you ever make your way to the beach town, try to find the bar with the “Buy one cocktail, get one free” sign and act oblivious. You may even get free alcohol.

Always, K.IMG_3293

One Reply to “Day Trip From London: Brighton”

Leave a Reply

