Today Is My Graduation Day

“I’m not sure what I’ll do — well, I want to go places and see people. I want my mind to grow. I want to live where things happen on a big scale” -F. Scott Fitzgerald

12112429_10153641259543638_5743512995078318480_n.jpg

So today is my graduation day. Today I meet the real world. I traded a once-in-a-lifetime experience for a different one and I wouldn’t change it for anything. I could be walking across the stage at Temple University and shaking hands with Dean David Boardman, but I’m [gratefully] in London for a few more days.

It’s definitely a weird feeling. When I walk off of my plane in the US, I have no transition to post-grad life. I just move home and look for a job. I don’t get that ceremony or that party that most college grads have been preparing for. It may take me longer to adjust because there’s no before-and-after for me. I jump straight into the after and wait for my diploma to arrive some 3 months from now.

Graduating is scary. I’ve been in school for 17 out of the 21 years of my life. Not going to school isn’t something that I know how to do. But at the same time I’m excited. I get to figure out who I want to be as an adult. I get to figure out where I want to live and what I want to do with my life. I get to figure out how to live my life at this age. My possibilities are literally endless and I have so much time to find what I love. Maybe I’ll start out by continuing my travels? Maybe get a dog? Maybe I’ll end up moving to a completely new city and end up totally reinventing myself. Anything can happen.

So anyways, wish me luck. I’ll meet you all on the other side of this invisible line that I’ve been walking.

Always, K.

One thought on “Today Is My Graduation Day

Leave a Reply

